Are you “dotty”?! We’re not abandoned!

An abondoned Osrich egg. Click on the pic to see more Nick Brandt photos. They're awesome!

We’re not abandoned!

Ever feel this way? —  “I often battle this lie, that somehow, God is not for me, that He has abandoned me or cannot forgive me. And then I do feel cut off and alone. I will listen to Christian radio, read the Bible, but will avoid talking to God. It’s the feeling of always being on the outside, looking in. Not quite included. That’s why I love the verse, Ephesians 1:13:

“And you also were INCLUDED in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in Him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit.” (posted by Susan on Dee Brestin’s blog.)

Ireland; Earth Observatory, NASA

My friend’s daughter (her name is Catherine) visited Ireland once with a team from Taylor University.

At one point on the trip the leader asked the students to draw a circle on a paper he handed out, representing the “inner circle” of friendship within their group, the “in-crowd”.

Then he instructed them to place dots in or around the circle to represent themselves and the others in the group — were they “in” or “out?”

Catherine said pretty much everyone, including herself, put their dots

outside the circle and all the others in.

Even some of the ones that Catherine put dead center in the circle, thinking they were the most popular, perceived themselves to be an “outside dot.”

Nice to be reminded by the above verse that we’re ALL inside dots with God. We ARE the “in-crowd”. We’re in Christ, in fact.

We’re included.

We’re dead-center, smack in the middle of His heart. 🙂

Let’s pray: “Oh, Father, thank you for including me in Christ when I heard the Word of truth, the gospel that saved me. (Ephesians 1:13)  Thank you that I will NEVER have to cry out, “My God! My God! Why have you forsaken me?!” because Jesus cried those words in my place on the cross. (Mark 15:34).  And because He did, I’m in Him and He’s in me.  That’s the hope of glory! (Colossians 1:27) In Jesus’ name, amen!

“Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.”  Psalm 9:10

4 thoughts on “Are you “dotty”?! We’re not abandoned!

  1. This is so true! I think everyone feels they are outside the circle, I know I always have! Even in groups I’ve known for my entire life.

    This is really what I needed to hear today, thanks!! 😀

Leave a comment