Solitude

Solitude liberates us from entanglements by carving out a space from which we can see ourselves and our situation before the Audience of One.  Solitude provides the private place where we an take our bearings and so make God our North Star.” ~ Os Guinness

One of my favorite hymns is  In the Garden (right click to open in new tab/window).

Here’s the heart of it:, “I come to the garden alone…

And he walks with me,

                                       and He talks with me,

and He tells me I am His own.

                      And the joy we share while we tarry there none other has ever known.” 

Solitude…say it out loud….Solitude.

                            It’s a 4-letter word to someone who hates to be alone…

    …but a lifeline for the Christian.

Beloved, come away...”  Songs 8:14

Come to me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart and YOU WILL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS.”  Matthew 11:27-28

Make the time.  “Carve out a space”, as Os Guiness said above, to go to a “private place” where you can “take your bearings and so make God [your] North Star.”

6 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. Excellent post Gloris! Many years ago I read a great book by Marilyn Howshall (Secrets of Solitude) and in it she put this prayer, that I just love…
    “In solitude I begin to face-
    many enemies of sin.
    No longer need I wear the mask
    of ‘all is well within’
    The horror I must face
    seems unbearable at best;
    But through grace
    You have promised
    to bring me to Thy rest.
    Your way is not one of
    striving with me,
    You gently woo and wait;
    Till I in painful surrender
    yield all the flesh You hate.
    I’ll embrace the place of solitude,
    I won’t be abandoned there;
    My LORD of Love is waiting; to free me from all care”

    • Excellent comment, Deanne! Thanks for the poem. I like this part, “I’ll emprace the place of solitude, I won’t be abandoned there; My LORD of Love is waiting; to free me from all care.”

  2. Pingback: Lazy Saturday « Gloriadelia

Leave a Reply

