Oops!

Did you know Bilbo DID NOT kill the dragon, Smaug, contrary to what I posted earlier this week in Hobbit Faith?  Oops!  My Hobbit memories failed me and the discrepency was kindly pointed out to me by a dear friend and local Tolkien expert.  Ouch!

  BUT, the little hobbit did kill a big, hairy hobbit-eating spider with Sting.  So…. 

We all have scarey things in our lives that threaten to destroy us.  Fears that bind us,  like the spiders wanted so very much to do with Bilbo and had already accomplished with his friends.

Follow Bilbo’s example, then, and kill your big, hairy fears.  How?  With your sword, of course.

For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”  Hebrews 4:12

And your sword has a name, a better name than “Sting” (no offense, Bilbo): “…the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.Ephesians 6:17b

Wield your sword whenever a fear confronts you.  Follow my lead… 

FEAR: “You’ll never be good enough.”

SWORD: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  Philippians 4:13

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses… For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  2Corinthians 12:9-10

FEAR: “You won’t be happy if you don’t give in.”

SWORD: “Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.  The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.”  Galatians 6:7-8

FEAR:  “No one will ever love me.”

SWORD:  “I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore I have drawn you with lovingkindness.”  Jeremiah 31:3

You get the idea.  That’s why it’s so important to know the Bible.  When we memorize scripture the Holy Spirit can point out errors in our thinking, like my Hobbit-correcting friend.  It’ll make it easier for Him to keep us on track, and our swords will strike the enemy of our souls with deadly accuracy.

Click the Bible Memorization link to the right for a list of great verses to memorize.

Leave a Reply

