Wildflower Faith

Queen Anne's Lace, Gloriadelia ©“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?”  Matthew 6:28

These beautiful flowers are just roadside weeds, “lilies of the field”, wildflowers.  Summer 09 306

The above verse says we can learn something from them.  We can learn not to worry. 

Worry is like the weedy vines I’ve noticed growing in my garden.  With their tendril arms they threaten to strangle the life out of my flowers, if I let them.  But I don’t. 

As soon as I see the vile brutes, I yank them out by their hairy little roots and throw them onto the burn pile.

Do you have some gardening to do?  Are vines of worry threatening to take over your heart? Yank them out!  Just grab a handful by their hairy little roots and cast them onto the burn pile, so to speak; onto the Lord, Who is a “consuming fire”. **

Wildflower, Gloriadelia ©

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.” Psalm 55:22

The Wildflower Prayer:  Teach me to laugh.  Teach me to forgive.  Teach me to love.  Teach me to live!

**  “…for our “God is a consuming fire.” Hebrews 12:29 

Do you know Him?

2 thoughts on “Wildflower Faith

  1. I love reading your blog! I shared your “weedy vine” analogy with the ladies in our church prayer thread. I know they will be as encouraged as I was!
    Thanks so much for taking the time to post!

Leave a Reply

