Spears vs Plowshares

“See, it is I who created the blacksmith who fans the coals into flame and forges a weapon fit for its work.” ~Isaiah 54:16

As I read this verse this morning, I imagined the ancient blacksmith toiling away, sweat on his brow, fanning the flames of his forge, hammering out spears, knives and swords , all “fit for [their] work” of destruction and murder.

I thought how often I am a blacksmith in my mind, fanning the flames of hurt and anger, pounding out my weapons of bitterness and wrath, readying to battle the enemy, unaware that the enemy was within all along.  It was ME….

“I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature.  For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.  For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do-this I keep on doing…So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me.”  Romans 7:18-21

When I find my inner arsenal building up,where do I turn to be the kind of woman I want to be instead?  “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? ”  Romans 7:24

To Jesus, of course…”Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”  Hebrews 12:2

I love this verse in  Isaiah 2, “They will beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks.  Nation will not take up sword against nation, nor will they train for war anymore.” (:4)

Swords and spears beat into plowshares and pruning forks… weapons for destruction on the battlefield transformed into tools for growth in the vineyard.

What field are you preparing for?  the battlefield or the vineyard?

The blacksmith’s prayer:  “Oh, Father, may the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing in Thy sight. (Psalm 19:14)  Beat my swords and spears (bitterness, anger, wrath, pettinesses) into plowshares and pruning forks (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness,  goodness, faithfulness, gentlesness, and self-control ~ Galatians 5:22)  In Jesus’ name, amen.”

Leave a Reply

