Hiker Faith

“…walk in the footsteps of the faith…” Romans 4:12

We’re here vacationing at Pikes Peak in Colorado.  We’ve climbed up, down, and all around the mounain and I have met the most encouraging hikers along the way.

Take this lovely hiker, for instance.  Just four months ago, she had double knee replacement surgery.  Now look at her! We met her on “the Crag Trail” hiking several miles up  steep, rocky paths.  I learned from her to endure.

“Endure hardship with us like a good soldier of Christ Jesus.” Timothy 2:3

“Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons.”  Hebrews 12:7

One morning, when the mountain was shrouded in mist, we met these cutie, cheerleader hikers at the top of the grueling Incline Trail.Top of the Incline on a foggy day.

After they’d summited the trail, they ‘d  call out cheers and words of encouragement to the hikers huffing and puffing behind them. “You can do it!”  “Awesome!”  “Great Job”  I learned from them that an encouraging word can make all the difference. 

“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.”  Hebrews 3:13 

"The Incline" trail on a sunny morning. 1 mile straight up the mountain along an old cograil train track.

"The Incline" on a sunny day. A grueling hike, 1 mile long, straight up the side of the mountain along an old cograilway track.

” Therefore encourage one another and build each other up…”  1 Thessalonians 5:11

And then there’s these hikers.  A 60-something couple from Georgia. 

They hike 14ers (14,000+ mountains) for a hobby, carrying huge packs on their backs.  The Mrs. Hiker had fallen on other hikes and broken both her knees, and endured other injuries, but, still, they keep on hiking, proving that age is just a state of mind. 
“Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.”  Isaiah 46:4

Taylor (L) and son, Andy at the Barr Campground, Pikes Peak

Taylor (L) and son, Andy at the Barr Campground, Pikes Peak

And, I can’t forget these hikers.  My son and his friend who taught me to always be prepared…

 

 

 

                                                                                                        

My son, Andy (L) and friend Taylor at the top of the Crag Trail, Pikes Peak

My son, Andy (L) and friend Taylor at the top of the Crag Trail, Pikes Peak

                                                                                     … and to laugh along the trail.

“A joyful heart is good medicine, But a broken spirit dries up the bones.” Proverbs 17:22

My shadow on a boulder on the Barr Trail, Pikes Peak

My shadow on a boulder on the Barr Trail, Pikes Peak

 

Hope these hikers encouraged you as much as they did me.  Happy Trails!

Leave a Reply

