Fields of Faith

 

Rolling Farm Fields of Iowa
Rolling Farm Fields of Iowa

“Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few.”  Matthew 9:37

I sighed inside when we left Colorado the other day.  Ahead of us we had miles of flat, boring midwest I thought; nothing as lovely as Pikes Peak.

But as we drove past the beautiful terraced fields of Iowa I had to snap a picture.  So pretty… 

…the repetitive rows, upon rows, spanning the horizon.

That’s how I want to be, I thought — regular like those rows; dependable.  The Bible assures consistent yields for those who are, and not much of a harvest for those who aren’t… 

“Diligent hands will rule, but laziness ends in slave labor.”  Proverbs 12:24

“The sluggard craves and gets nothing, but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied.” Proverbs 13:4

 “The plans of the diligent lead to profit as surely as haste leads to poverty”  Proverb 21:5  

I want to be diligent to read my Bible everyday, pray “on..all occasions”.  (Ephesians 6:18), regularly, consistently, dependably, like the field rows, so I can yield good fruit ~~Fruit Bowl

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”  Galatians 5:22

Want more consistency and fruit in your life?  Pray the Harvest Prayer with me:

Oh, Father, You are the Lord of the Harvest.  You’re also a God of order.  Please change my heart.  Make me a consistent person who is diligent to read the Bible and draw near to You.  I want a fruity life.  In Jesus’ name, Amen!

 Do you know the “Lord of the Harvest”? Click here for an introduction.

Leave a Reply

