Tomato Season

FallThere is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven…”  Ecclesiastes 3:1

Tomato season.  That’s what fall is.  The vines are overflowing with plenty to spare.  And as the season progresses and the vines fade and wither, they still produce enough fruit to share with friends and neighbors.

I’m in the fall of my life, these days; middle age.  The vine ain’t what it used to be!  Winter is fast approaching, the winter of my old age.  And, like fall, I have both good days and bad.

  Some  are sunny and warm, full of color and gentle breezes, while others weigh heavy on my soul, like gray-covered skies with blasts of chill that take my breath away.

Those days call for the “Tomato Prayer”…you can pray it too, on your own cloudy days:

Oh, Lord of the Harvest, thank you for this day, and for this season of my life.  You came to this 'maters on my windowsillplanet that we might have life. (John 10:10b), and that abundantly.  Breathe new life into these tired, achy bones.  As “the vine” withers, may it overflow with fruit; enough to share with friends and neighbors.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Galatians 5:22-23a

Do you know the Lord of the Harvest?  Click here for a lovely video introduction.

4 thoughts on “Tomato Season

    • Thanks for visiting my site! I just visited Kochsgarden and it looks very informitive. And I agree, there’s nothing like a fresh tomato!

Leave a Reply

