Great Lines from Movies: Batman Begins Pt. II

There’s another great line from Batman Begins.  Bruce Wayne (Batman) is trying to convince his good friend (and secret  love of his life), Rachel Dawes, that he’s not as bad as he seems.  He’s been acting like a play-boy in public so people won’t suspect his true caped-crusader identity. 

 Rachel responds sweetly, “Bruce, it’s not who you are inside that matters.  It’s what you do that defines you.”

Wow.  What we do does “define” us.  The Bible agrees with Rachel:

“Even a child is known by his actions, by whether his conduct is pure and right.” Proverbs 20:11

“But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.” Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.”   James 2:18

What we do and how people perceive us as Christians is important.  Why?  So we can be “holier-than-thou”?  No, so we can shine for Christ in this  Gotham-y world we live in and perhaps save some —  like a super-hero:You are the light of the world

“You are the light of the world…let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:14a, :16

The Super-hero prayer:  “Oh, Father in heaven.  You are my hero.  You saved me from the darkness, from out of the pit of destruction. “You have put all my sins behind Your back” (Is. 38:17).

Oh, may I shine like a light for you in this dark world.  You are the light of the world. May many, many people “see the light” when they see me.  May they see You in me.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Click here to see the light:

One thought on “Great Lines from Movies: Batman Begins Pt. II

Leave a Reply

