Great Lines From Movies: Finding Nemo

“Keep swimming. Keep swimming… ”  At the edge of a pitch dark cavern in the ocean, cute little Dory, a blue fish encourages her equally cute friend, Marlin, a clown fish, to “keep swimming”.  They have to search the mirky depths for something  they’ve lost that’s terribly important.  Funny, cute,and a little scary; it’s one of my favorite scenes in the movie, Finding Nemowatch..

Sometimes life can seem like a dark bottomless pit.  It’s scary to go forward, to “keep swimming”.  Here’s some verses to cling to in the dark:

“When I am afraid, I will trust in You…In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?  In God whose word I praise, in the Lord, whose word I praise — In God I trust; I will not be afraid.  What can man do to me?” Psalm 56:3-4, 10-11

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

Feeling small?  Pray the “Little Fishies Prayer”:

“Oh, Father in Heaven, my savior, my friend (John 15:5).  The way seems dark and scary, and I can’t see how I’ll make it, but I’ll trust in You.  Help me to hold Your hand, to keep reading my Bible, keep praying, keep trusting you in the dark.   In Jesus’  name, amen.”

Here’s a helpful song I taught my kids when they were little.  It’s comforting to sing it to yourself when you have something scary to do:

(sing to “London Bridge is Falling Down”)

“I will be with you always

You always

You always

I will be with you always

Matthew 28:20b.”

“For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”  Isaiah 41:13

2 thoughts on “Great Lines From Movies: Finding Nemo

  1. Sometimes parenting seems like a scary unknown…what will my children choose? How will they use the gift of their lives? Will they seek after God? So good to know the Author of Life holds us all in His hands and watches over us…and them!
    Bev

Leave a Reply

