Virus Scan!

My computer interrupted my google search a bit ago and warned me to run a scan.  I had a virus threat.  So, I ran the scan and 21 threats were “isolated and eliminated”. 

As I viewed the list of viruses, it occured to me to me that doubts are viruses to our faith that can crash our trust in God, and I wondered what threats to my faith I might be harboring unawares.   So I ran a scan. 🙂 Here’s a doubt I isolated:

I’ve been doubting that God is really good.   Why?  It started when I did an image search for the prayers for Iraq  post the other day. Images of sobbing mothers, dying children and other horrors filled the screen.  “Why?”, I asked.  Why all the pain and suffering in the world.  Not just in Iraq, but here in America, amongst my own friends and family; so many people dying in the prime of life, or really nice people suffering or dying of cancer.  Why?!!! 

I shared my doubt wth a friend over coffee the next morning, Joanne Reutter.

Joanne and Ken in happy times

Joanne and Ken in happy times

  She, and her husband, Ken, are missionaries in Brazil.  They’ve seen all kinds of suffering amongst the people there and in their own family over the years, including Joanne’s own bout with breast cancer. 

 She leaned toward me across the table and said, “Gloris, God really uses our pain…and growth occurs. It makes us trust more.  Alot of times we grow faster through the pain.”.  She should know…  Reminded me of a C.S. Lewis quote, “God whispers to us in our pleasures…but shouts in our pain:  It is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.” 

Scripture, like virus scan software,  isolates and dispels threats to our faith. After the the tragic google search for pictures of Iraqi people, I searched the Bible for comfort and this is what I found:

“But you, O God, do see trouble and grief; You consider it to take it in hand.  The victim commits himself to you…You hear, O Lord, the desire of the afflicted; You encourage them and you listen to their cry.”  Psalm 10:12-14

The Doubter’s Prayer:  “Oh, Lord, my God, Thou art very great. (Psalm 104)  Nothing compares to the power You have for those who believe. (Ephesians 1:19) I do believe in You, Father; that you are good.  Help me with my unbelief. (Mark 9:24)  In Jesus’ name, amen.”

“Unless the Lord had given me help, I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death.  When I said, ‘My foot is slipping,’ your love, O Lord, supported me.” Psalm 94:17-18

5 thoughts on “Virus Scan!

Leave a Reply

