Confessions of a Distracted Homemaker/Artist…

eggsOn the way to boil some eggs for lunch this morning, I noticed some towels that needed folding in the dryer… towelsOh, this’ll just take a sec…Then, I noticed the box of Swiffers next to the newly folded towels…I haven’t dusted in ages….On the way back to the kitchen, to boil the eggs, dust-filled swiffer in hand, I noticed my open journal on the counter…Oh, those acorns I’ve been painting could use a few more shades of brownacornsWhat’s my homeschooler doing?  He’s supposed to be doing World History….

distracted homeschooler  aargh..He’s headfirst into Harry Potter!  How do we get so distracted?!  I’m going to whip up some hot chocolate and think about this….

But first, I wanna point out, there’s one thing none of us can afford to get distracted from, and that’s reading our Bibles every day. The Bible isn’t fantasy, like my son’s book.  It’s true and WE NEED IT going through our eyes and into our hearts every day. 

This isn’t just some distracted homemaker/artist from the midwest talkin’ here, either.  An important gentleman from across the ocean in Africa has said pretty much the same thing:

Haile Selassie I (1891-1975)
Haile Selassie I (1891-1975)

Haile Selassie, the emperor of Ethipia from 1930-1974, had this to say about it, as recorded in my son’s “Bible Doctrines” book:

 “Today man sees all his hopes and aspirations crumbling before him.   

 He is perplexed and knows not whither he is drifting.

But he must realize that the Bible is his refuge, and the rallying point for all humanity.  It is here man will find the solution of his present difficulties and guidance for his future aciton, and unless he accepts with clear conscience the Bible and its great message, he cannot hope for salvation.  For my part, I glory in the Bible.” praying_hands_bible

Have you read your Bible today?  Don’t get distracted — READ!!! 

What’s that burning smell???….My hot chocolate!!!!

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Distracted Homemaker/Artist…

Leave a Reply

