Grrrrr-ammar Lessons: Nouns

a_noun_tile_coasterMy baby girl’s moving out today!  She’s an English major and bad Grammar is her pet peeve. (i.e. don’t text “wheruat?” to her.  I’ve learned that the hard way. :))

So, in honor of my Grammatically-correct daughter, Liz, today we review the all-important noun.  Hey! Don’t leave!  It gets interesting!  Keep your seat and watch this!:

 

A noun is “a person, place, or thing”….

Get out your notebooks, class, and write this down ~~ the person’s, places and things with which we associate, affect us.  (effect us?  Did I use the right form of that there word, Liz?!)

Liz, pausing from packing to pose for me.

Liz, pausing from packing to pose for me. She still has her stage makeup on from the last showing of “Beauty and the Beast”. Off the stage one day and out into the real world the next.

 

We’re just mirrors.  We reflect the world around us.

Who’s in your world, Mirror?

I mean, who and what are the persons, places and things affecting you? (effecting?!)

In the virtual world there could be 1000’s of persons, places and things rubbing off on you.

Read this effective poem on that very topic. (affecti….oh, never mind.)

“Twitter, Facebook, Movies, Wii.

Entertain!  Entertain!  Entertain me!!!

This is our life, our heart’s decree!

How sad!  How mad!  How lost are we…” ~ gloris young

Class, get out your notebooks again and copy down these persons, places and things the Bible says we should be reflecting:

persons

 

 

 “Blessed is the man who listens to me, Watching daily at my gates, Waiting at my doorposts.”  Proverbs 8:34 (That’s God, and he has lots to say to us if we’d listen…)

 

places

“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. ” Isaiah 26:3  (That’s the place to be, in Perfect Peace)

 

 

things

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.”  Matthew 6:19-20 (It’s good to have some permanent things in our lives.  The good we do for God and others, those are things that can never be taken away from us, the things we should really treasure.)

 

THE NOUN PRAYER (click on the verse references to read in context):

“Father, you are a Person, not a place or a thing. (Isaiah 48:12)  You are a Person Who loves me. (John 3:16)  You have important things to say to me. (Proverbs 8)  No person, place, or thing I desire compares with You. (Proverbs 8:11) I haven’t taken enough time to listen to You.  Help me set down my things and come away to a quiet place to spend some time with the most important Person in my life.  In Jesus name. Amen.”

Do you know him, class?  Click on the chalkboard to meet the Teacher:

7 thoughts on “Grrrrr-ammar Lessons: Nouns

    • Ha! I’ll tell my daughter, and show her your site (I just peeked at it). We both love language, in general, and I’ve been dabbling in sign language, in particular, for a few years now. I noticed you’ve been featuring sign on your site, lately. Who’da thought, a whole site dedicated to language. (sorry about the who’da thing) Thanks for your comments! Gloris

  1. this is HannaH. just wanted to say that i LOVE your web site! 😀
    you make me laugh and think and thats a good thing.

    • You sound like Martha Stewart! You’re right, it’s a good thing to laugh and think AND to comment on my blog-site! Thank you! It’s nice to know people are reading out there in webland. Love you! Aunt Gloris (i.e. Gloriadelia 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

