Grrrr-ammar Lessons: Adjectives

Missed me?  Gloriadelia has been on fall break.  But, I’m back!  And, in honor of my college-age daughter, Liz, who loves all things English, and moved out last week, I’m encouraging you to “Unpack your Adjectives” (was that a run-on, Liz?  sorry…)

Well, on any given day, these are words that can describe me, depending on the amount of restful sleep, nutritious food, or yummy chocolate I’ve had. And they are:  cranky, mean, selfish, angry, out of control.

Now let’s compare my adjectives with God’s.  These are the words that ALWAYS describe Him:  loving, joyful, peaceful, patient, kind, good, faithful, gentle, self-controlled. (Galatians 5:22)

I want to pack up my adjectives and exchange them for His.

We can do that, you know, send our adjectives packing.

Here’s how:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11:28

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”  1 Peter 5:7

Here’s a song, sung by Fernando Ortega, that I would describe as beautiful, and encouraging…

Maybe it will help you to be cheerful, encouraged, and hopeful.  Listen…

If you have a hard time with it stalling, just push the pause button, and come back to it in a bit.  It should load up and play straight through then.

Leave a Reply

