Walk in the Light

nature center walk 2009 037“But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” 1John 1:7

I love to walk in the forest this time of year.  With the leaves  off the trees, all is open and laid bare, no secret critters lurking nearby off the path.  (I’m a paranoid hiker. 🙂 )

From the bluffs, the bare limbs reveal the river in the distance, hidden from view all summer. river bluffs, fall 2009

Reminds me of this verse: “ And there is no creature hidden from His sight, but all things are open and laid bare to the eyes of Him with whom we have to do.”  Hebrews 4:13 

That’s the kind of person I want to be; open, no secrets, nothing to hide. The view is so much better, inside and out.

Dave in the Woods

  

 “… O man… what does the LORD require of you but… to walk humbly with your God?”  Micah 6:8

The Hiker’s Prayer (click on highlighted words/phrases for verse references): 

” Oh Father, You cover Yourself in light as with a cloak.  I want to walk in the light as You are in the light.  Help me to confess my sins, because when I do,  You are faithful and just to forgive me of my sins and cleanse me of all unrighteousness. Father, right now I confess… (fill in the blank).  Thank you for forgiving me.  Oh, Father,  You exist and You are a Rewarder of them that earnestly seek You.   I am earnestly seeking You now.  In Jesus’ name, amen!”

Do you know Maker of the Woods?  Click on the bluff for a better view of Him.nature center walk 2009 039

One thought on “Walk in the Light

Leave a Reply

