Root Canal!

Root Canal :(I had a root canal today.  So, Gloriadelia is going to be much shorter and sweeter than usual.  Well, shorter, anyway…

Let’s just get right to the root of the matter.  We all need to read the Bible every day.  Period.

“If this stuff (the Bible) gets in you, down in your guts, it’s going to shape you in ways beyond your asking or imagining.”  Mark Buchanan

Reading and DOING the Bible will change us down deep where it counts, right at the root. 🙂

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and spirit, of joints and marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”  Hebrews 4:12 RSV

“I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.”  Psalm 119:16 Bible study area in a synagogue

Are you writing these down?!  These are great verses!  And here’s another:

“I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”  Psalm 119:16

So, you wanna avoid a lot of pain in your life?  Then “get this stuff.. down in your guts”.  READ it!  MEMORIZE it!  and DO it! (sorry if I sound a little cranky.  I had a root canal, after all…)

Pray with me?   (click on highlighted words/phrases for verse references):

praying_hands_bible ” Father, You are and You are a rewarder of them that earnestly seek You.  I’m earnestly seeking You now and asking You to change my heart to LOVE your Word.  Oh, may I delight in Your Word and not neglect it.  May I agree with these words in the Bible:  Thy words were found by me and I ate them and they became for the me a joy and the delight of my heart.

In Jesus’ name, amen!

Do You know the One who made all the teeth in Your head?  Click on the little chomper below to get aquainted. 

p.s. The lovely picture of the Bible above came from tommyimages.com

4 thoughts on “Root Canal!

  1. Hiding his word in our hearts is so important and at the root of our ability to tap into His strength when we need it.

    Have you ever read Corrie Ten Boom’s ‘The Hiding Place?’ It’s an amazing witness to the power of faith when all hope seems lost.

    • Funny you should mention Corrie Ten Boom. Someone brought her up the other day in reference to suffering and God’s ability and delight to bring great good from bleak circumstances. I have read “The Hiding Place” and “Tramp for the Lord” (Is that the title?). Need to reread them sometime.

  2. I haven’t read ‘Tramp for the Lord’ yet (yes that is the title) but read about the last years of her life in ‘The Five Silent Years of Corrie Ten Boom’ more recently. It was written by her personal assistant and was also quite good.

Leave a Reply

