Abandoned?

Teresa Leach, photographer

Abandoned depot, Keokuk IA

Feeling abandoned?  Where-are-you-God-ish?  Feeling “… like places abandoned to thickets and undergrowth….. desolation.” ? Isaiah 17:9

Well, I’ve been feeling that way.  Not for myself, but fretting that some loved ones are abandoned.

 Dying of cancer seems to be the newest fad.  Everybody’s doing it these days.

Why, Lord?

I pray that You would help them, Lord,  hold them — Why don’t You heal them?  That starts with an “h“, too…Why don’t You heal? 

How many have I seen die horrendous deaths?  So many prayers sent up…nothing, nada…no response…

Where’s the hope?  Where’s your honor?!!!!

Then, tenderly, these words from a movie I’ve seen recently, were whispered to my soul, “People pay attention at funerals.”  They pay attention to life and death.  They wake up to their own mortality, question more, are more open to answers.

Also read that in a book about a missionary in the Philippine rice terraces.

Rice Terraces, Philippines

  More villagers were impacted for Christ at funerals than at any other time.

Someone once said to me, “We’re all going to die, Gloris.”, when I was lamenting the untimely death of a loved one.

“Thank you, Father, that I’ve lived long enough to have a better understanding of You.  That I’ve had the time to feel closer to You.  And when I die I will be closer still — no more drawing near,

no more need to grow…

                                                 just knowing…Teresa Leach, photographer

                                                                                                being….

in Your presence…

                                               face-to-face…

Held. 

 

Do you know the Lord?  Click on the picture above to be introduced.

 

2 thoughts on “Abandoned?

    • Sure will! I’ll pray right now, in fact. Father, thank you for all the good and even the bad times. Please work out all the details for the surgery. May the surgeon care for stationarypilgrim’s partner like she were a very close loved one. Please may GREAT good come out of all this for all involved. I do pray for healing, but also for holding. May she feel held. In Jesus’ loving name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

