Scrumpdily-itious Faith

Big Sur Bars

"Thy words were found and I ate them and they became for me a joy and the delight of my heart..." Jeremiah 15:16

See those yummy, scrumptious cookie bars on the plate there?  Highly addictive.  I just can’t stop shoving them in my mouth!  They’re “Big Sur Power Bars” and contain all kinds of good stuff, like coconut,  slivered almonds, oats, brown rice crispies (like rice crispies, but healthier), and the paste of resistance? –that’s French, ya know. 🙂  — Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate!  Applause all around!!

And look at Papa Bear’s smug little grin. ( *frown*)  Not exactly fair.  He didn’t get that paunch eating porridge, ya know.

Ah, if only I could be so eager for the Word of God.  It’s a tasty morsel for the soul, and much, MUCH better for me than power bars. (See below for recipe.)

Well, here’s a yummy recipe for PEACE and JOY:

~1 part Bible reading, daily is best.

~mixed with 1 part prayer, make sure to pour your heart out here.

~combine with 2 parts obedience.

I got that recipe from a Master Chef.  🙂  See?

BIBLE READING: “Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” Psalm 119:105

PRAYER: Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:6-7

OBEDIENCE: “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock.  The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock.”  Matthew 7:24-25

praying_hands_bibleThe Power Bar Prayer: “ Oh, Father, you are a Master Chef and have cooked up all kinds of good things for me in the Bible.  Help me to love Your Word so much I want to eat it up like chocolate.  AND help me to DO IT, not just hear and ignore it.  And Lord, I want to pour my heart out to you now about this thing that’s really bothering/hurting/worrying me…(fill in the blank, take your time). 

Your Word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.  Thank you, Father, for Your peace, which surpasses understanding.  In Jesus’ name, amen.”

Do you know the Master Chef?  Click on the pots and pans to cook up a relationship with him:

Big Sur Power Bars (I added the chocolate!) 

pots and pan clipart from: www.clipartguide.com

Leave a Reply

