Fish Faith

breathing underwater!

I used to have a recurring dream that I was underwater.  At first I’d panic–“I cant’ breathe!”  But then,  I could, somehow.

Real life can sweep us off our feet in a strong current of despair; flood us over, and over.

Well, today I discovered — again— that by reminding myself of what’s true,  what’s  good, what’s noble, and worthy of praise (Philippians 4:8) I can, in fact,  breathe underwater!

And Fernando Ortega helped, too. 🙂

(If you can’t hear the music as you scroll down my post, just double click on Fernando to open him in a new window. Oh, don’t forget to pause the screenon my page first or you’ll be hearing two Fernando’s playing over each other. 🙂  ) 

Monster Goldfish!”  ‘Be still and know that I am God’…Be still and know that I am…Be still and know…Be still…”  ~ R. Rohr, from Psalm 46.

Did you catch that?  Richard Rohr distilled that awesome verse from Psalm 46 to an essential point — Be still…  God is in the stillness, in the quiet, behind the closed door.  That’s where we learn to see Him and know Him, and in His presence the darkness fades away, like in Fernando’s song.  “Till the sorrow and the darkness fade away…fade away.”

Joy awaits us there,  and peace… Hudson Taylor, missionary to China, said this about joy:

“It is the consciousness of the threefold joy of the Lord, [1.] His joy in ransoming us, [2.] His joy in dwelling within us as our Saviour and Power for fruitbearing and [3.]  His joy in possessing us, as His Bride and His delight; it is the consciousness of this joy which is our real strength. Our joy in Him may be a fluctuating thing: His joy in us knows no change.”  

Joy…“The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for JOY and I will give thanks to him in song.”  Psalm 28:7

” Do not be grieved, for the JOY of the LORD is your strength.”  Nehemiah 8:10b NASBGiant Goldfish!

Real joy comes despite the pain, under the water.  John Calvin said, “…it seems David would glory in God in spite of seeming abondonment, and although there should be little outward appearance of help, David would rest contented with the simple security of God’s Word.” ~from “Suffering; Understanding the Love of God”

“For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:38-39

Been underwater too long?  Getting wrinkly skin? Click on the fish face above for a lifeline.  It’s a site full of hope for those who are suffering.

 

Leave a Reply

