Thanksgiving Prayer

A Kitchen prayer from the Glastonbury Abbey in England.  Here’s what it says, (imagine it written in beautiful calligraphy)

Give me a good digestion, Lord, and also something to digest.

Give me a healthy body, Lord, and also sense to keep it at its best.

Give me a healthy mind, Oh Lord, to keep the good and pure in sight.

Which seeing wrong, is not appalled, but finds a way to put it right.

Give me a mind that is not bored, that does not whimper, whine, or sigh.

Don’t let me worry overmuch about that fussy thing called, ‘I’.

Give me a sense of humour, Lord.  Give me the grace to see a joke,

To get some happiness from life, and pass it on to other folk.”

 

*To further explore the ancient ruins of Glastonbury Abbey, you can click HERE to my friend’s blog.  She took some pictures there recently.

**special thanks to fromoldbooks.org for the calligraphy.

Leave a Reply

