Sophia

“Sophia” means wisdom…interesting.  I’ve always liked the name, Sophia, but it sounds so pretty and light.  It would make more sense if it meant “flower”, or “puppy”.

But, come to think of it, there is a world of wisdom captured in the scent of a rose and in the soft, furry caress of a puppy.  Both share the wisdom that God is real, and good….that He is. 

The expanded definition of Sophia includes, “skill in the affairs of life, practical wisdom, wise management as shown in forming the best plans…”

Oh Father, may Sophia be my middle name?   Gloris Knows-the-Best-Plan.  It’s kinda long, but I like it. 🙂

“Get wisdom, get understanding…” Proverbs 4:5

The Sophia Prayer (click on highlighted phrases/sentences to read the verse we’re praying):  “Oh, Father, wisdom starts with you.  How many are your works, O Lord! In wisdom You made them all; the earth is full of Your creatures.  Oh, Father, please give me wisdom.  May I make wise plans for how to spend my time and DO them.  “Teach me to number my days that I may present to Thee a heart of wisdom.”.  In Jesus’ name, amen!”

Do you know the Lord?  Click on the sunflower to be introduced:

Leave a Reply

