Pebble Faith

A little pebble got caught inside the back cover of one of my journals.  It must have been in there awhile  ’cause there were lots of little pock marks and indentations along the binding.  Over time and with pressure from the weight of the other books stacked on top of the little journal, the pebble broke the binding.

It was a double loss, too, since I had some important photos tucked in the back and they were dinged up, as well.

Once I discovered it, I immediately flicked out the little intruder and lamented the damage.

I was reminded of the verse that says, “…forgive my hidden faults” Psalm 19:12

and, “catch for us the foxes, the little foxes (the little pebbles, the little sins) that ruin the vineyards (journals, our lives).” Song of Solomon 2:15

The little sins we allow in our lives through carelessness, that over time and with pressure from the weight of cares stacked on top can break that which binds us to the heart of Christ —  our faith. 

And the little pebbles damage all that’s really important to us — our relationships, our walk with Christ.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” Hebrews 12:1

The Pebble Prayer (click on highlighted words/phrases for the verse we’re praying):

” Oh, Father in heaven, thank you for loving me and teaching me how to stay close to you.  Who can discern their errors?  Forgive my hidden faults.  Keep your servant also from willful sins.  May they not rule over me. 

Catch for me the little foxes; the little sins that threaten to destroy my life.

In Jesus’ name, Amen” 🙂

Do you know the “Pebble finder”?  Click on the pic below to be introduced.

 

Leave a Reply

