Have Home Will Travel!

Amphioctopus marginatus

See the cocunut shell this octopus is carrying around?  It’s his little shelter.  Scientists discovered it in the waters around Indonesia.  “I was gobsmacked,” said a research biologist. “I mean, I’ve seen a lot of octopuses hiding in shells, but I’ve never seen one that grabs it up and jogs across the sea floor. I was trying hard not to laugh.” **

See for yourself:

This little coconut-carrying octopus (he’s just the size of a fist) is a creepy-crawly picture of this verse:

“… you have made the LORD…your dwelling place.” Psalm 91:9

If the Lord’s our dwelling place it doesn’t matter where we are, we’ll feel at home.  I needed to remember that recently when I was nervous at an event where I felt like an outsider.  I shared my feelings later with a good friend who said, “Gloris, you just need to make Christ your home.” 

Home.  That’s where we feel most secure, if we have a good family to greet us when we come home, and food to eat and a warm bed for sleeping.  And, no matter how big or small it is, it’s a cozy and safe place.  That’s what home should be and what we can feel no matter where we are if we carry our home with us like the Amphioctopus marginatus .

The Octopus Prayer: (click on highlighted words/phrases, if you like, to see each different verse we’ll be praying.)

Oh, Father you are my dwelling place, Christ in me, the hope of glory.  Who is God, except You, Lord?  And who is the Rock except our God?  When I am afraid, I will trust in You.  In Jesus’ name, amen!

Do you have a safe shelter when you’re afraid?  Open the door below to see how to make Christ your dwelling place:

** cbsnews.com (a great article on the coconut-carrying octupus)

4 thoughts on “Have Home Will Travel!

  1. That octopus was so cute carrying that coconut around.
    I miss this site. fun facts, real brief sharing of Jesus. It has you written all over it. Your too awesome!

Leave a Reply

