Who’s Your Daddy?

In Israel, Chip Ingram (author/pastor), saw a little boy reaching up and tugging on his father’s leg and crying, “Abba!  Abba!”  His Abba, or daddy, as we’d say in America, reached down and scooped his son up into his lap….

It brought to life this verse:

“For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship.  And by him we cry, “Abba,  Father.”  Romans 8:15

Imagine your Father in heaven, your dad, Abba, singing the song below to you.  It might seem silly to think of God singing a John Denver song, but the song is about love, parent to child, and He does so love us.  

For Baby

I’ll walk in the rain by your side,
I’ll cling to the warmth your hand.
I’ll do anything to keep you satisfied,
I’ll love you more than anybody can.

And the wind will whisper your name to me.
Little birds will sing along in time.
Leaves will bow down when you walk by,
And morning bells will chime.

I’ll be there when you’re feelin’ down,
To kiss away the tears if you cry
I’ll share with you all the happiness I’ve found;
A reflection of the love in your eyes.

And I’ll sing you the songs of the rainbow;
A whisper of the joy that is mine.
And leaves will bow down when you walk by,
And morning bells will chime.

I’ll walk in the rain by your side.
I’ll cling to the warmth your tiny hand.
I’ll do anything to help understand.
And I’ll love you more than anybody can.

And the wind will whisper your name to me.
Little birds will sing along in time.
Leaves will bow down when you walk by:
And morning bells will chime.  ~~ John Denver

Even Jesus called God his Abba.  Here he is in the garden about to be drug off by Roman guards.  He knew they were going to beat and torture him and hang him on the cross the next day.  In his distress, he cried out to his dad:

Abba,  Father,” he said, “everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me…”  Mark 14:36

And because he did go ahead and drink from that cup, we can call God, our daddy, too:

“Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba,  Father.” Galatians 4:6

The Abba Prayer (click on highlighted words/phrases to read the verses in full):

Oh, Father in heaven, Abba, daddy.  It sounds so strange to call you that, but that’s who you are.  I do believe, help me with my unbelief!  Increase my faith!  May I trust you like a child, and cling to the warmth of your hand.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Who’s your daddy?  Click on the pic below to meet mine. Maybe you’d like to make him yours:

My nephew, Eric, and great neice, Inara

Leave a Reply

