Get me outta here!!

Travel!  Love the sound of that word.  This time of year, when the snow falls deep and the winds blow cold, cities like Miami  or Honolulu have a pleasant ring.  Here’s another city with a pleasant ring, all expenses paid:

“…a city with foundations whose architect and builder is God.” Hebrews 11:10

Sometimes the worries fall deep and the wind blows cold in my soul.  My faith gets a little chilly. 

That’s when I pack up and “head to the city”:

” If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. Instead, they were longing for a better country-a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for themHebrews 11:15-16

Here’s my travel essentials:

my journal,

and my Bible.

The Traveler’s Prayer:

“Oh, Father in heaven.  Thank you for loving me and inviting me to a warmer place with a better view. You said,’Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.’ (Matthew11:28)

“And you offered, ‘Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and YOU WILL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS.’ (:29)

“I want rest and peace in my soul, Father.  I’ll come to You. 

“Help me to come to You every day, not just to visit, but to stay —  every hour, every minute, by your side.  I’ll run into You arms with my arms open wide.

In Jesus’ name, amen.”

Not a Christian? Longing for a better view?  Click the pic below for a quick introduction to the Builder of a better place:

Leave a Reply

