Prayers for Haiti

  

  

I was lying in my cozy bed  in my cozy home when the radio woke me with the tragic news that other people, 1,000’s of other people, were trapped under tons of rubble in Haiti. They had been caught unawares shopping, playing, working, sleeping.  And now they were trapped in the dark and dust, suffering excruciating pain.  The report ended with another shocking fact: the royal palace had also collapsed.  The earthquake was an equal-opportunity destroyer.  No one was spared.  

Today’s update is unfathomable:  200,000 dead; 1.5 million homeless.  From a midwest perspective, that’s  the big city of Peoria, Illinois dead, and the bigger city of Chicago homeless.  Wow…wow…  

Here’s an eye-opening blog post that melted my heart for Haiti when I read it : To the Woman in the Rubble.  Please take a moment to read it yourself, then come back to pray.  

Did you come back?  Great. Let’s roll up our spiritual sleeves.  We’ve got work to do.  

Prayer for Haiti:  (we’ll start out reminding ourselves of God’s goodness, because, at times like this, it’s easy to forget.)  

“Oh, Father in heaven,  because of your great love we are not consumed, for your compassions never fail.  They are new every morning.  They are new every day. Great is Thy faithfulness. ( Lamentations 3:22-23  

“Thank you for all the doctors and nurses, search and rescue teams, soldiers, missionaries, and people off the street that are being heroes right now.  Please give them strength, and understanding of what to do.  

“I pray for anyone still alive in the rubble to be rescued.  I pray for miracle after miracle so the people can see that you are real, that you love them, and that you are helping them.  

“Please provide food for the orphans, and medical attention, and loving homes for them in safe places.  

“Please protect everyone from looters and rioters.  Please may the looters and rioters turn there energy to helping.  Please quiet their fears.  May your voice be the loudest on the streets.  

“Please may the christians in the city and the outlying towns shine like lights in all the darkness; loving, encouraging, blessing, praying.  

“You are, and you reward those who earnestly seek you. (Hebrews 11:6)  We’re seeking you now on behalf of Haiti.  Send forth your light and your truth to guide them. (Psalm 43:3)  In Jesus’ name, amen.  

Here’s another heart-opening blog post about Haiti.  Reflections

3 thoughts on “Prayers for Haiti

  1. This is good Gloris I am already forgetting their circumstances. It’s soooo far away and all that. I wish I could go and be on a medical team. Of course all I can do is vitals and baths at this point but I bet I would learn alot.
    love Karen

    • I know whatcha mean, Karen, about wanting to go help. Our church is sending a team in a few months. I’m hoping my family can go.

  2. Thank you for taking the time to write that, Gloris. I read the other links then came back for your prayer. I really appreciated the emphasis on God’s kindness.

Leave a Reply

