Moonshine!

Theresa's moon; Theresa Rogers, photagrapher

Wow! Did you see the moon this weekend?!  On Saturday, January 30th,  it was the biggest and the brightest full moon of 2010.  Even the wildlife seemed to be impressed. 

 The woods behind our house were full of turkeys for most of that day (see them in the picture below?) and that night, I could hear owls whooping it up in the trees, making strange sounds, not just your typical “hoo, hoo’s”. 

 And in the wee hours of the morning, a lone coyote yipped and howled his furry little heart out as the moon set in the west.  I’ve never heard that before in all my years living here, which inspired me to draw it in my journal (below, sorry it’s a fuzzy cell phone pic :().

 So, overall, the moon created quite a stir around my house this weekend.

I was pretty excited about it.

Why was the moon so big and bright?  Because it was so close –a mere 221, 560 miles away! 

 According to Jack Horkheimer ( “Jack Stargazer” on PBS) that’s 31,000 miles closer than it will be in August when it’ll be the furthest away from the earth in 2010. 

That means it was closer to the sun as well, which reminds me of another face that glowed after being close to “The Son” ~~

 ” When Moses came down from Mount Sinai with the two tablets of the Testimony in his hands, he was not aware that his face was radiant because he had spoken with the Lord.  When Aaron and all the Israelites saw Moses, his face was radiant, and they were afraid to come near him.”  ~ Exodus 34:29-30

That’s what I want, a radiant face.  Not just the kind promised in cosmetic ads, but radiance from the inside out, that we get from being close to the Lord, like Moses and like the psalmist promises here:

Those who look to Him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.” Psalm 34:5

What will not be covering our faces when we look to Him?  Shame.

And read the verse above that one: “I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.” (:4)

What will we be delivered from when we look to Him?  our fears

Nothing uglies up a face more, or robs it of its glow quicker than fear and shame.

So, what might be scrunching up your face into a fearful frown these days? Let’s do what Psalm 34:4 says above and seek the Lord about it, the maker of the moon:

The Full Moon Prayer:

“Oh, Father, the heavens declare your glory, the skies proclaim the work of Your hands.(Psalm 19:1).  I want to believe that when I seek you about my fears, You will listen and deliver me from them all. (Psalm 34:4)

“S0, here they are.  I’m afraid of (fill in the blank. Take your time.  Really think about it.  What are you afraid of?) _______________.  

“Looking forward to a radiant face, Father. (Psalm 34:5), a face free of fear and shame.  In Jesus’ name, AMEN!”

Do you know the Moon-maker?  Click the pic below to be introduced:

David Vernon photagrapher, http://www.escapesphoto.com/, used with permission

credits:     jackstargazer,  escapesphoto.com,

2 thoughts on “Moonshine!

  1. I love the pictures you choose, they really help to accent your points. I especially like that you draw/take most of the pictures. =)

    • Thank you, Liz. The pictures are actually a mixture. Theresa Rogers, took the top one (I borrowed it off her facebook 🙂 ), the face-cleaning lady I borrowed off the web, and the bottom moon picture was taken by a local professional photographer, David Vernon.
      Thanks for you comments. I LOVE comments!

Leave a Reply

