One ticket to Whatever-You-Want World, please. :)

If I lived in “Whatever-you-want-world”, the place where you can do whatever you want and get away with it, I’d be eating at my favorite pizza place and drinking my favorite beer (Sunset Wheat) at least 3 nights a week.  And not just cheese pizza to be good, but Triple Bacon Cheeseburger Supreme with extra pickles. Yum!!!  And the fat would pass through my middle-aged body with no consequences at all.  sigh.  I HATE consequences. 😦

My pastor said, in a sermon about them, “You pick up one end of a stick, the other comes with it.  You get both ends of the stick.”

God calls it “reaping what you sow.” (Job 4:8)

So, here’s to sowing love and joy, peace and patience, kindness, and goodness, faithfulnes and self-control. (the fruits of the Spirit, Galatians 5:22)

The self-control part is the hardest for me, I guess.  It’s just that I “need” so much comfort and pleasure.

Oh, help me to learn to be content, like the Apostle Paul wrote about in his letter to the Philippians:

” I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”  (Philippians 4:12)

And what was his “secret”?  It’s in the next verse:

 “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” (:13 KJV)

The Ticket to Contentmet Prayer:  “Oh, Father, thank you for your GREAT patience with me.  You know how weak I am and yet you still love me so.  Not just a little love but A LOT of love. 

” Father, help me to learn the secret of contentment —  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. 

” Help me to learn to rely on Your strength and not my own. To lean not on my own understanding (Proverbs 3:5-6), but to acknowledge You in all my ways.  Christ in me, the hope of glory! (Colossians 1:27

 Oh, may whatever I want be what You want. In Jesus’ name, amen.”

2 thoughts on “One ticket to Whatever-You-Want World, please. :)

  1. I’m about to start that juice fast. So I really need to be content with LESS in the near future. Hopefully, there will be less of me in the end =)

    • Yes, that’s the goal. Less of us spiritually to slow us down in our walk. I hate to jiggle when I walk. (get it? It’s an analogy.) Thanks for stopping by, Missy!

Leave a Reply

