Hudson Taylor

J. Hudson Taylor (1832-1905)

My last post featured a challenge from a young soldier stationed in Iraq.  It was a challenge to every soldier of Christ to read the Bible and , more importantly, DO what it says.

Coincidentally, I came across a similar challenge in J. Hudson Taylor’s autobiography.  Mr. Taylor was one of the first missionaries to inland China and started the  China Inland Mission.  He was kind of a radical among missionaries of the time as he and his fellow workers gave up their refined English clothing for Chinese dress and traded their tea and crumpets and silverware for rice and fish and chopsticks.  see below:

His writing style is a little more, shall we say,” stuffy” than Stephen “Blu” Mack, soldier in Iraq’s, since it was written so long ago, but the message is just as loud and clear.
Enjoy this short-ish quote! Or as J. Hudson Taylor might have said, “Be enriched to the fullest degree!”  🙂 ~~
Note: He’s talking about the time before he became a Christian:
“It may seem strange to say it, but I have often felt thankful for the experience of this time of skepticism.  The inconsistencies of Christian people, who, while professing to believe their Bibles,were yet content to live just as they would if there were no such Book, had been one of the strongest arguments of my skeptical companions; and I frequently felt at that time, and said that if I pretended to believe the Bible I would at any rate attempt to live by it, putting it fairly to the test, and if it failed to prove true and reliable, I would throw it overboard altogether.
“These views I retained when the Lord was pleased to bring me to Himself; and I think I may say that since then I have put God’s Word to the test.  Certainly it has never failed me.  I have never had reason to regret the confidence I have placed in its promises, or to deplore following the guidance I have found in its directions.”  ~ J. Hudson Taylor

Questions: What do you think it means to “put God’s Word to the test”?  In which of God’s promises do you need to “place your confidence”?  Remember, “all the promises are yes in Christ.” (2 Corinthians 1:20)

Oh, that we would all place our confidence in God’s promises, like Hudson Taylor.

To that end, let’s pray “The Chopstick Prayer”:
“Oh, Father in heaven, you are so good.  You gave us the Bible to show us how to live (2 Timothy 3:16) and you gave us the Holy Spirit to help us to do it (Acts 1:8).  May I please be like a pair of chopsticks in Your hand, doing whatever you will.  In Jesus’ name, amen!”

Here’s a book about Hudson Taylor you might want to buy and read by yourself or with your family . There are discussion questions at the end of each chapter.  Click on the pic for ordering information.

Leave a Reply

