Footsteps in the snow…

We live on a hill and are “blessed” with a steep, winding driveway, so, after a snow storm, sometimes we have to park our cars at the bottom and trudge up and down for a few days till we have time to get it cleared again.

When the snow’s fresh, I let my husband walk on ahead and I follow behind in his tracks.  It’s easier that way.

Which reminds me that our every-days can be filled with a snowstorm of decisions to make, one of the most important being, whose tracks we will follow through the day.

On an especially good day, I’ll make that decision for myself before I even get out of bed; before my feet touch the floor I’ll decide that I will follow Jesus’ for the rest of the day.

“Follow me.”, Jesus said to his disciples.

What steps are you taking to make sure you are following Him?

A Katie Goddard photo

 

One of my friends likes to sit at her table with her Bible and a warm cup of tea each morning,

 notebook at the ready to record any insights she gleans.

Same with my other friend,  except she sits in a cozy corner of her piano room in a comfortable chair, candles burning on the table near-by for atmosphere.

Amy's quiet time corner

I like to stay in my bed.  As I read my Bible, and record verses, and prayers in my journal, my local Christian station serenades me with hymns, songs and encouraging words from the radio near-by.  Very cozy.

 

How you do it, though, isn’t as important as DOING IT

 regularly,

 consistently,

one foot

 in front of the other,

 every day…

“Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You
I will seek You in the morning
And I will learn to walk in Your ways
And step by step You’ll lead me
And I will follow You all of my days”
~~”Sometimes by Step”, Rich Mullins (1955-1997)

“Blessed is the man who listens to me, Watching daily at my gates, Waiting at my doorposts. For he who finds me finds life And obtains favor from the LORD.” Proverbs 8:34-35

Click on “Bible reading plans” or “Bible study plans” on the right for reading suggestions.

3 thoughts on “Footsteps in the snow…

  1. Gloris, I felt so relaxed after I read your post. It was a warm cozy reminder. You made it very inviting. Thanks again for sharing

Leave a Reply

