To Bake or not to Bake. That is the question…

To bake brownies, or not to bake brownies?! That was the question in my kitchen this evening.

Get it? Sounds Hamlet-y, “To be or not to be, that is the question.” Here’s a comic of Calvin’s dinner [from Calvin and Hobbes] quoting more of Hamlet’s Soliloquy, if you’re interested.  Click HERE and scroll down a bit to see it.  Come on, it’s funny. 🙂

Ok, back to the brownies…

Must resist!  Must resist! But they’re SO gooey, and chocolaty, and yum-yum-yummy when they’re hot and melt the ice cream in the bowl.

Sigh…Ok, I gave in and baked. 😦  Why do I do this to myself?!!!!!!!

A TommyImages Photo

Coincidentally, I just read this in Proverbs 16:

“There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.” Proverbs 16:25

And this is in Psalms 16 **:

“Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup…The boundary lines [ooh, there’s that ugly word, boundaries] have fallen for me in pleasant places…” Psalm 16:5-6

OH, “the air bites shrewdly…” (that’s Hamlet, too)

I hate BOUNDARIES! When it comes to food, anyways.  BUT, I know not everything I want to put in my middle-aged mouth is good for me (or my thighs), so, I guess it’s good to have them (boundaries, that is).

And it’s good to know what will satisfy me, too.  Longer than brownies.  Later on, in Psalm 16 I found the recipe for something more filling:

“You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” Psalm 16:11

The Fill-me-up Prayer:

Oh, Father, the Apostle Paul said, ” ‘Everything is permissible for me’-but not everything is beneficial. ‘Everything is permissible for me’-but I will not be mastered by anything.”( 1 Corinthians 6:12) I don’t want food, not even chocolate to master me.  David wrote in Psalm 16 that running after other gods will only increase my sorrows. (vs. 4)

I no longer want to try to fill my soul’s holes with ___________(fill in the blank, whether it be food, drink, or any other “god” you may be running after.  Anything you believe will only increase your sorrows.)

Lord, help me to agree with David in Psalm 16, “I have set [You] always before me.  Because [You are] at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” (Psalm 16:8)

More of You, Jesus.  Fill my soul with more of You.

In Jesus’ name, amen.”

“Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure.” (Psalm 16:9)

Do you know the Lord?  Knowing Him —really knowing Him–is better than chocolate.  Honest! Click the pic below to be introduced:

Big Sur Bars

** I like to read the Psalm and Proverb for each day.  Today’s the 16th, so I read Psalm 16 and Proverbs 16.  Something I learned along the way.  Works out really well for Proverbs each month, since there’s 31 of them, but with Psalms I’ll keep going after the 31st and just read a new one each day.  This month, though, I started over again with Psalm 1 on the 1st of March, etc.

2 thoughts on “To Bake or not to Bake. That is the question…

Leave a Reply

