“One Another”

Pastor Tony Evans

Driving in the van today, I was listening to Pastor Tony Evans on the radio.

He said the phrase, one another is a common one in the New Testament.  I hadn’t noticed that before, and he pointed it out because it shows how important it must be to God that we look out for “one another”.  Hmmm… I made a mental note to look  up the “one another-ing” verses when I got home.

Here’s what I found on BlueletterBible.org

Note: There were too many to list! But here’s my favorites…

“…serve one another in love.” Galatians 5:13b

“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.” Ephesians 4:2

“Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ in God forgave you.” Ephesians 4:32

“Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.” Colossians 3:13

s I read over these verses, I thought, it’s easy to live them out at church, or with people who are nice all the time out in public, but what about at home, where it really counts; behind closed doors, where it may not be as easy to “bear with” the bear your spouse is in the morning, or be “kind and compassionate” to the kind of people you have to live with every day.

That’s where it ain’t so easy to be “humble and gentle”, not to mention “forgiving”…

The “One-Another Prayer:

h, Father in heaven, You are love. (1 John 4:8) AND You are rich in mercy (Ephesians 2:4)

“Father, I want to be merciful, kind and compassionate to the people I live with, to the ones I work with every day.  I want to bear with them, and forgive them just like you have forgiven me.

I know I can’t do it on my own.  Thank you for your Holy Spirit who will come along side and help me. The fruits of the Spirit are “love, joy, peace , patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control” (Galatians 5:22), all that I need to be all that You want me to be to those closest to me, the ones who see the real me.  In Jesus’ name, amen.”

3 thoughts on ““One Another”

    • I know! It’s so easy to be patient with someone who crosses me outside my family, but let my husband be a little p_ _py and I react. Heard on the radio this morning the difference between reacting, and responding. Reacting satisfies my flesh, while responding Biblically satisfies my Lord.

      • Oh, wait, you were probably meaning you hadn’t noticed how often “one another” appears in New Testament. I love it when Bible teachers point out neat facts like that from the Bible.

Leave a Reply

