Happiness is…

As I posted yesterday, I was awarded the Happiness 101 Award by one of my favorite bloggers, JeLisa over at BloggingEverAfter.  Click on the Blog title to read the first post I read of hers.  It’s about being married.  I had a sappy grin on my face the whole time I read it, and wanted to hug my husband as soon as he walked in the door.  A MUST READ!!!

Part of winning the award it to list 10 things that make you happy.  Yesterday I listed 6.  Well, JeLisa’s post I made mention of made me happy so that must be #7.

I’ll introduce #’s 8 and 9 by sharing my Facebook Friend’s status from yesterday.  Hilary posted, “Coffee.  Bacon.  Conversation.” I clicked the like button right away.  I LOVE those three things.  But I’ll have to cheat and combine coffee and bacon under #8, put conversation as my # 9, so I can leave room for my all-time favorite Happiness maker….

A scoop of vanilla icecream drizzled with espresso and caramel at my favorite coffee shop

Bacon, Bacon! Thy name is YUM!

I saved the best for last!  Number 10 is the B-I-B-L-E, yes that’s the book for me! (check out Bible study links to the right)

It wasn’t always that way, though.  Used to be, for years, in fact, that I preferred reading books about the Bible to reading the “dry, melba-toasty” Book itself.  But a Bible teacher encouraged me to pray and ask God to change my heart to LOVE His Word.  I did it, and did it again, and again, until the “dry melba toast” magically changed to a juicy steak dinner with chocolate mousse for dessert when I read it most times.

“Bible Time/morning devotions/ quiet time/ time  with the Lord” –whatever you call it, the important thing is that when I do it faithfully, it boosts my faith.  Reading the Bible encourages me to try a little harder to love a little better (a LOT better) to understand a little more, to keep going with hope.  I become a bigger, better, stronger person from the inside out.

I love the Word! I could do without bacon, coffee, even chocolate (which really should be included on the list,by the way) but don’t take away my Bible! Where would I be without it?


And, finally, the Award goes to…

An important part of receiving the award is to pass it on to other bloggers.

So, I’d like to present this Happy 101 Award to an old friend, Angelia, for her blog, A Year of Letters.  Angelia is very organized, which explains how she can manage her goal of writing a letter every day for a year.  Letter-writing is a lost art, and getting one in the mail is sure to make a person  happy.  So, congratulations, Angelia!

“A happy heart makes the face cheerful, but heartache crushes the spirit.” Proverbs 15:13

One thought on “Happiness is…

  1. When you’re happy, I’m happy 🙂 especially when we’re reading the Bible together or sitting at your favorite coffee house…contented sigh….

Leave a Reply

