When it Rains it Floods: Lessons From Rhode Island II

Pawtuxet River flooding in Warwick RI. photo credit: Heidi Hope Photography

“YOU NEED HELP?!”
That’s what a couple cousins shouted recently to a man trapped in his car in the middle of a flooded street in Cranston, RI. Click on the link below to watch the dramatic rescue as waters rose quickly around them:

Cousins Save Man From Sinking Car

Did you catch that the water was “wicked high” and the driver was “disabled” and couldn’t get himself out of the car?  I can completely identify with that.

Just this weekend I needed help, in fact. The waters of worry were wicked high and I felt completely disabled, unable to save myself.

Some “heroes” at church prayed for me, and, by doing so, dragged my limp self out of the murky, swirling doubt that threatened to drag me under.

Don’t underestimate the power of fellowship, Christian. It’s not just coffee and donuts on Sunday morning.  We’re in a battle here and the Christians around us are our fellow warriors fighting alongside us.  They’re our heroes.

And sometimes we get to be the heroes. Sometimes we’re the ones who yell, “You need help?!”

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work:

If one falls down, his friend can help him up.

But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.

But how can one keep warm alone?

Though one may be overpowered,

two can defend themselves.

A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”  Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

The Rescuer’s Prayer:

“Oh, Father, thank you for rescuing me.  When you called me to yourself  and I repented from my way of life, you saved me out of a dark pit and placed my feet upon a rock. (Psalm 18)  Now I’m saved.

But still I stumble and fall sometimes.  Thank you for the many heroes you’ve used over the years to save me out of many pits I’ve fallen into, or even, sometimes, hurled myself into.

Please use me to help others.  Give me eyes to see when someone needs rescuing, and the courage to yell, “You need help?!”

Thank you for my heroes.  Make me a hero, too.  In Jesus’ name, amen!”

Why don’t you take a minute or two to write a thank you to someone who’s been your hero.  Maybe they’ve prayed with you, encouraged you, or told you the truth when you needed to hear it.  Come on!  Be a hero to your hero!  Who knows?  Maybe they  need a little “helping up” themselves right now and your note might be the strand that keeps them from breaking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

