Voices from the desert…

Steve "Blu" Mack, soldier in Iraq

“The happiness of this place comes and goes, and I find that sometimes this place gets the better of me and throws me face down in the dirt.  But I find that every time I get my eyes back on you I always see forgiveness in your eyes, and in your presence find the perfect peace,  and in your presence find joy that surpasses all the troubles of this place. ” ~~Steve “Blu” Mack, Facebook

Voices from the Desert….

Two soldiers in Iraq.  Steve (above) and Sean..

Sean on leave with his baby daughter, Caroline

Both Christians

Both learning to lean on their God

In the desert…

dust storm on base

Sometimes it’s hard to see…

“Lost and confused.” Sean Leach on Facebook

But, they are learning to make God their vision…

“Be Thou my vision, O Lord of my heart

Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art

And I stand here in your promise, that you will never leave me; watching as the storm rolls up on me, and your voice turns to a whisper.  I feel all alone but I still stand on your promise.  My sand castles come crashing down but the rock you have given me is strong till the end.  As the storm blows over, I see you standing next to me.  I hear you say in a voice so sweet that you love me and never once have you left me”  ~~Steve “Blu” on FB

“When you speak from your heart, and say the words your soul has only dared to whisper, that’s when miracles happen.” Sean Leach on FB

And over here in the states where we have all the water and comfort we could desire, their words have become water for our thirsty souls:

In the hopes of reaching the moon men fail to see the flowers that blossom at their feet.”  Sean Leach on FB

“Courage is contagious. When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of others are stiffened.” – Billy Graham ~ Sean Leach on FB

And how could such a king shine His light on me and make everything beautiful and I wanna shine.  I wanna be light.  I wanna tell you it’ll be alright… I got nothing of my own to give to you, but this light that shines on me shines on you and makes… everything beautiful, again. It’ll be alright, it’ll be alright.”  ~~Stephen Blu Mack on FB

“The light shines in the darkness…” John 1:5

Note: post still under construction… check back later for more encouragement from the desert.

One thought on “Voices from the desert…

  1. Thanks, Gloris, for quoting my son. And, Sean, what a heart for God. This is very encouraging. I am continuing to pray for both. Love, Kelly

Leave a Reply

