Remembering…

Old picture of my daughter,Lizzy, in curlers, from a scrap book she put together when she was little. She wrote around the picture: "Me after a garage sale. I was sopposed to sell stuff."

Sing with me:  “Memories… can be beautiful, and yet.”  sigh…

I’ve been reading my old journals lately and looking through old family photo albums. This picture was taken when my daughter, Lizzy (now, “Liz”, thank you very much),was all of 7 or 8.

Our family had hosted a big garage with some other families all day and Liz had sold off a bunch of her old toys and stuffed animals.   But, funny thing was,  she’d managed to replace a lot of them with new toys and stuffed animals from the other family’s tables.

So, at the end of the day, she’s posing with some of her “new” finds, and I wrote in my journal that night,

“Just put Lizzy’s hair up in curlers for church tomorrow and wrapped a scarf around her head for her to sleep in.  In the morning she’ll have a new head of hair.”

Lizzy getting rid her old toys and buying new ones, and waking up with new, curly hair in the morning reminded me of this verse, which I also recorded in my journal:

“Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.”  ~2 Corinthians 5:17

I need you every hour...

Ready for something new?

Let’s pray:

Thank you, Father, that all things are new in Christ.  You’re all about new.  “Behold, I’ll do something new…” (Isaiah 43:19)

And “those who wait on you will gain new strength.  They will mount up on wings like eagles.  They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not be faint.”  (Isaiah 40:31)

Help me to have re-newed faith in You.  Do something new in my heart and life.

Help me to let go of old habits and old ways of thinking that get in the way of the new, like ______________ (list some old habits or thoughts that you think hold you back from all the good the Lord wants to do  for you.)

Thank you, Father that this old memory has filled me with new hope for all You can and WILL do in and through me.

Out with the old!  In the with the new!

In Jesus’ name, Amen!”

Lizzy now. :), Abby Riley, photographer

4 thoughts on “Remembering…

  1. I love you, mom!!
    I can’t believe I wrote “sopposed,” though. It makes the English major in me cringe to know my past mistakes!! 😉

    • Me too! Thanks for stopping in. Ironic that “Oncealittlegirl” stopped by when I was reminiscing about my daughter who was once a little girl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

