Remembering III

My oldest, Steve, when he was 10 or so. As you can see, had a flair for fashion. 🙂

♪ ♫  “Meeemrieeees… can be beautiful and yet…”

Been scouring old journals and photographs these days. Found this picture of my oldest of three, Steve, now 21 and living on his own.

Three words to describe Steve: creative, smart, individual.

You can see his individual style choices in the photo. 🙂

Here’s a peak at his creative side from my 1998 journal:

“Steve (10) made bugs all over the house with his “no-ends”.  (“No Ends” are white plastic building toys with colorful connectors.  “There’s no end to what you can create with them.”, it says on the box.)

Steve made a giant ant, a giant spider, a fly…  The spider he put under my black exercise mat, an ant he put on the kitchen counter with its head poking into a bag of apples.  The fly’s wings were made with [his little brother] Andy’s favorite blankie…”

When Steve was little, I had to watch my step when crossing the family room floor because there’d be Steve-creations everywhere; a Lego battle here, a no-end space ship there or a cardboard brick maze set up for one of our guinea pigs to meander through.

God made each one of us with special gifts/talents to use for his glory, didn’t He?

We’re “fearfully and wonderfully made” God-creations! (Psalm 139)

Stop, Drop, and Pray!

Let’s pray: Oh, Father, thank you for loving us and creating us.  We are created in Your image, the Bible says, and, since you are The Creator, it make sense that we are creative, too!

Thank you for building good things in my life.  I know anything good in me comes from you because the Bible says so:

“Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.” ~James 1:17

I’ve changed over the years, in good and bad ways, but You don’t change.  You are ALWAYS good, ALWAYS kind, and you ALWAYS love me.

Help me to ALWAYS love you, too. In Jesus’ name, Amen!

“But as for me, the nearness of God is my good; I have made the Lord GOD my refuge, That I may tell of all Your works.” ~Psalm 73:28

Do you know the “Father of Lights”?  Click on the updated pic of Steve to be introduced:

Steve now with girlfriend, Audrey. And 10 yr. old Steve on the mantle. 🙂

One thought on “Remembering III

Leave a Reply

