Soul Anchor

False security.  That’s the topic for today.  Why?  Because last night when I finally made it to bed after a long evening, a storm hit.

As the winds raged through the woods about my house and the rain beat against the window above my head I buried my face into my nightly source of comfort.  You might think that would be my husband, and I suppose he is to an extent.  I mean, he keeps my feet warm, but I absolutely can’t sleep without my “snuggly robe”.

Me in my snuggly robe

I have a huge, soft robe that I wear sometimes during the day, but always sleep with like a teddy bear, at night.

And, of course, I cuddled in closer next to my sleeping husband, as well.

So I fell off to sleep, then,  cozy and secure,  missing the storm at its worst, complete with tornado sirens.  My son informed me about it next day.

Funny thing is, although I felt “cozy and secure”, if a tornado had hit our house, me and my snuggly-robe would have been sucked right out the nearest window!

What’s your snuggly-robe? What teddy bear do you cuddle in closer to when the storms of life hit?

I think it would be better to hang onto something that wouldn’t blow away so easy, something with roots.  Don’t you?  A soul anchor, perhaps…

“We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain…” Hebrews 6:19

And what is this “firm and secure hope anchor for the soul?

JESUS,

JESUS,

JESUS…

“Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.” Hebrews 7:25

And what does he save us from?  Ultimately, eternity in hell, but daily?

Only Jesus can save us from the storm that howls about us and threatens to suck us right out the window every day, every moment…

our sin.

He saves us from our selfish own selves:

“Such a high priest meets our need-one who is holy, blameless, pure, set apart from sinners, exalted above the heavens.” Hebrews 7:26

So, again I ask, what are you clinging to?

“Those who cling to worthless idols forfeit the grace that could be theirs.”  Jonah 2:8

Thing is, we can’t hang onto Jesus with dirty hands.  So, here’s some verses I’m clinging to today.  You might want to hang on, too:

“Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.

Be devoted to one another in brotherly love.

Honor one another above yourselves.

Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

Share with God’s people who are in need.

Practice hospitality.

Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse.

Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. Live in harmony with one another.

Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position.

Do not be conceited.

Do not repay anyone evil for evil.

Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody.

If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.

Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord.

On the contrary: “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”

Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”  Romans 12:9-21

Do you have an anchor for your soul?  Click on the pic to meet mine:


3 thoughts on “Soul Anchor

  1. I’m going to write those verses down in my journal and read them every night before I turn out the light. Why? Because I’m such a good person?
    Nooooo!!!! Because I’m a rat at heart! So I need to constantly remind myself of how I’m supposed to be acting, thinking, reacting, etc.
    I anchor the truth in my heart and then when a storm hits, I don’t go flying off the handle.
    Write it,read it, pray it, do it!
    (mess up, fess up, get up, and go!)

Leave a Reply

