Everbody Needs Their Mummy

Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy.

My son, Andy (15), is sick. 103 fever last night. Oi vey. Even before I took his tempy, I could tell he didn’t feel well because he actually wanted to snuggle in by me on the couch.  Teenage boys and cats get more affectionate when they’re sick.  It’s true.  Look it up.

We watched an old Abbot and Costello movie together, “Abbot and Costello meet the Mummy”, and the first line was something like, “A man’s best friend is his mummy”.   Well, that’s certainly true when he’s sick. :)Here’s the old trailer for the movie.  It’s pretty funny.

In the movie, the mummy had a hard time getting around because he was bound up by his wrappings, and was feeling pretty low, like my son, I guess, ’cause he needed a special elixer to revive him.

Are you feeling bound up?  Well, here’s some good verses to revive you….

“As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you.” Isaiah 66:13

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou [art] with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.”  ~Psalm 23:4

“Be strong and take heart all you who hope in the Lord.”  ~Psalm 31:24

“We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield.” ~Psalm 33:20

“But now, Lord, what do I look for?  My hope is in you.” ~Psalm 39:7

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.” ~Psalm 62:5

Do you know the God of all comfort? (2 Cor. 1:3)  Well, He’s got His eye on you!  Click on the pic below to be introduced:

2 thoughts on “Everbody Needs Their Mummy

  1. Just found your blog. I got here from “Freshly Pressed,” where I saw that you had replied to a blog from someone who was looking for a moral compass for her daughter. I liked what you wrote there, and, I think what you’re doing here is really interesting.

    Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

