Ants, Slugs, and Spiders! Oh my!

I’m going to have a lot of questions when I see Jesus face-to-face.  And one of the first is, “What’s with the ants, slugs, and spiders?!”

I have them all over and around my house these days.

Stomping and swatting has become the norm.

I  stomped on a few ants on the way to the fridge this morning, hopped over a few (million) slugs on the front step to get to the newspaper,

and, because we live in the woods,  I ALWAYS, always, always have to watch where I put my hands outside the house, ’cause I might feel this:

wolf spider with babies on her back

or this:

Black Widow Spider

I can understand God making chocolate, or mountains, or furry little kittens, but ants? slugs? and spiders?!

Well, today I start a three part series on the creepy-crawlies about my house.

My new motto is: If you can’t beat ’em, learn from ’em.

We’ll start with the ant.


Like I said, our kitchen’s been crawling with them.

So, I put out some poison on the counter.

Some sweet, sticky poison.

They swarmed it like a watering hole in desert!!!


They thought they’d found a little heaven on earth.

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!!!!!

Reminded me of our toxic culture.  The movies, the TV shows, the music.  It’s so sweet.  So we suck it all down.

"There is a way that seems right...but in the end it leads to death." ~ Proverbs 14:12

And who gets the last laugh?

The Ant Prayer: “Jesus, You are truly sweet.  The Bread of Life, the Bible says.  Oh, may I taste and see that You are good. (Psalm 34:8)  Change my wants from cheap thrills to You. Fill my soul with food that will last. In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

“Come, eat my food and drink the wine I have mixed.”  ~~ Proverbs 9:5

Do you know Jesus?  Click on the pic below to be introduced:

"I am the Bread of Life." ~~ Jesus (John 6:35)

2 thoughts on “Ants, Slugs, and Spiders! Oh my!

  1. ewwwwww… I can’t stand spiders and buggies… ewwwww. Still, you did a good job helping me learn from those creatures. Love the way you keep these lessons short and sweet! But to the point – I always walk away with something profound to think about.

Leave a Reply

