Spider Baby Faith

Oh my! I walked into the kitchen to find a mini 8-legged swat team rapidly descending to my head from the ceiling on little tiny threads. *screeeeeeeam!!!*

They were nursery web spider babies and they were everywhere! Squish! Squash! Stomp!

Oh sure, they look cute now, the little deceivers, but look at what they grow into!

The fishing spider, Pisauridae Dolomedes, click on pic for source and more info

These are huge woodland creatures that live near a water source.  Guess where we live? In the woods by a river!  Eeep!

I repeat, they are HUGE spiders.  As big as a hand! *whimper*

According the web-site where I found that picture, their bodies can be an inch long. Did you read that?! An inch long, and that doesn’t include their legs.

I swatted a grown-up fishing spider that was resting on top of our metal patio table once.  It’s fangs made a pinging sound when they hit the table top.  Huge spider.

I must admit, fishing spiders are rather pretty, though,  for a spider.

They do have pretty, dark brown markings and delicate, LONG legs and all.  See?

notice the pretty markings (click pic for source)

but, nonetheless, I have been squishing and squashing them all over the kitchen for days now, lest one of them should survive and take over a cabinet or something.

Reminds me of something else….

How ’bout all those little sins I tolerate in myself.

Oh sure, they may be cute now, but look what they could grow into?!  Being  a little miffed here, and little miffed there can lead to full-blown bitterness.  And look at how scary that is:

See to it that no one comes short of the grace of God; that no root of bitterness springing up causes trouble, and by it many be defiled.. ~ Hebrews 12:5

See? Bitterness can “spring up” into HUGE trouble for us and those we love.  It can take over our hearts!

So squash it now before it grows into a big and hairy problem — with fangs!

from "buycostumes.com", click pic to see more of their CUTE costumes, but not now. Pray first!

The Spider Baby prayer:

Oh, Father, thank you for giving us the Bible that gently, and sometimes firmly, points out the truth to us.

Thank you for the warning us to “get rid of all bitterness, anger, and wrath” (Ephesians 4:31)

Here’s how I, personally, have been showing my fangs lately — (fill in the blank.  Take Your time. )

Thank you that if I walk in the light as [You] are in the light then I can have fellowship with those around me. (1 John 1:7)

I want to have fellowship with my family and friends, so I’m bringing this sin out in the light.  Squash! No hiding in the cabinet for me!  In Jesus’ name, Amen!

Do you know the One who made both spiders and babies?  He’s HUGE-ly kind and loving.  Just beautiful.  Click on the pic below to be introduced.

photo borrowed from http://www.cirrusimage.com

Special thanks to Cirrusimage.com, buycostumes.com, for the images above. 🙂

One thought on “Spider Baby Faith

Leave a Reply

