A Slave to Love…

I’ve read several profound descriptions of what it means to be a Christian lately.  I’ll feature one today, and another next time.

I read the first one on someone’s blog:

“I am a slave. Sometimes it hurts because I want to go a different direction than my master. Sometimes I want to appease those I feel threatened by. Sometimes I want to go my own way for my own purposes. Sometimes I just want to go. But I am a slave. And it feels good because my Master is good and loving. My Master protects me. My Master leads me to better places than I would go. My Master’s ways are better than my ways. And I love my Master.”   ~~ Woad Warrior

Wow…

It reminds me of what Mary, Jesus’ mother, said to the Holy Spirit when He was about to change her young life forever ~~

“Behold the bond slave of the Lord;  May it done to me according to Your Word.” ~~ Luke 1:38

A bond slave was a slave who, having earned his/her freedom, decided to stay on and serve His master.  He could leave, but he wanted to stay.

To seal the deal, the slave would stand by the door of the house, and the owner would drive an awl through his/her earlobe into the doorpost and then put a ring in the bloody ear hole.

Master piercing bond slave's ear. click on pic for source

Both the blood on the doorpost and the ring in the slave’s ear showed this was no ordinary slave forced into obedience, this was a willing slave, a bond slave, staying of his own free will.

See?

“But if the slave plainly says, ‘I love my master, my wife and my children; I will not go out as a free man,’then his master shall bring him to  God, then he shall bring him to the door or the doorpost. And his master shall pierce his ear with an awl; and he shall serve him permanently.” Exodus 21:5-6

I love the words to the following song.  It’s called, “Pierce my ear

“Pierce my ear, Oh Lord my God. Take me to your door this day.  For I will serve no other god.  Lord, I’m here to stay.”

Stop, Drop, and Pray!

Let’s pray:

Oh, Father, thank you for loving me.  Like that rock and roll song says, “We all gotta serve somebody”.  There’s no better master to serve than you.

I’m sorry for how often I treat you like the slave or my genie-in-a-bottle that ought to bend to MY will.

May I say with all my heart, “I love my master…I will not go as a free man [woman].”  (Exodus 21:5)

May my heart’s cry be, “Your wish is my command.”

Thank you, Father, that you’re biggest wish is for people to love one another. (John 13:34)

I have not been loving to these people in these ways: (fill in the blank.  Take your time.)

You are love. (1 John 4:8)  I want to be a slave to Love.  In Jesus’ name, I pray.  Amen!”

Do you know LOVE?  Click on the praying child above to be introduced. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Slave to Love…

  1. Pingback: “When I say I am a Christian..” « Gloriadelia

Leave a Reply

