Bike Across America, Part IV: Stuck in Van Horn

Stuck in Van Horn! We’ve had to park our bikes this week in Illinois (Dave has to work overtime), so, on our virtual

Ride across America!!! (thunder, lightning crash, epic music)

we’re spending a few extra days in the one-road, desert town of Van Horn, TX:

Van Horn, TX; population 2435. Click pic for source.

Ever been stuck? I’m learning sign language when I’m not biking, and here’s the sign for “stuck

First this...

then this ( from http://www.lifeprint.com)

Looks painful.

It can mean “trapped”, too.

Ever felt stuck or trapped?

Maybe not in a real desert, but sometimes my soul can feel pretty parched and my faith dried up with doubt and worry, like I’m stranded in “a dry and weary land, where no water is.” (Psalm 63)

But there’s ALWAYS God.

And sometimes He speaks to me more in the desert than by a stream.

I hear him more clearly in the heat, than in the shade.

In the dry times, God BECOMES my stream in the desert

Then will the lame leap like a deer, and the mute tongue shout for joy. Water will gush forth in the wilderness and streams in the desert.  ~~ Isaiah 35:6

Glenn Spring Stream Pool, Chihuahuan Desert, click pic for source

O God, thou [art] my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; ~~ Psalm 63 KJV

I need you every hour...

Let’s Pray: Oh, Father, I need Thee every hour, every minute.  Thank you for loving me and guiding me through hard times, even carrying me when needed.

Oh, Father, when my soul is burning up with anger and frustration, may the “burning sand become a pool, the thirsty ground bubbling springs. [ May] gladness and joy…overtake [me], and sorrow and sighing will flee away.” Isaiah 35:7b, 10

In Jesus’ name, Amen!!

“The desert and the parched land will be glad; the wilderness will rejoice and blossom.” ~~ Isaiah 35:1

Feeling stuck?  Click the pic below to meet the great Un-sticker of your soul.

photo credit: Matt Champlin. Click on link below to see more of his awe-inspiring photos of God's awe-inspiring handiwork

Photo above by Matt Champlin ~~ http://www.flickr.com/photos/mattchamplin/4565531214/in/set-72057594092009327/

One thought on “Bike Across America, Part IV: Stuck in Van Horn

Leave a Reply

