On the Road Again…

Well, my hubby and I are back on the road tomorrow early to continue our…(dramatic music)

Ride Across America!

— our virtual tour of the Southern states.  We do the miles in and around our midwestern town and track our progress on a google map.  We started in Florida back in March (pretend) and are now in Texas, where’s we’ve stuck in Van Horn, near the western border,  for almost a week now because my husband has had to work overtime back here in Illinois.

Confused?  Scroll down a few posts to catch up.

Now where was I?

Oh, so we’ll fall leap out of bed at 4 am and be sluggishly eagerly pedaling 30 minutes later down highway 10.

By Saturday, Lord willing and if the tires hold out, we’ll be 80 to 100 miles further down the road, soon to be entering New Mexico on our way to San Diego, CA.

Riding that many miles takes fuel, so we eat a quick breakfast to start out right and snack along the way.

To ride through life, the Christian needs fuel, too.

Your words were found and I ate them, And Your words became for me a joy and the delight of my heart; For I have been called by Your name, O LORD God of hosts.  ~~ Jeremiah 15:16

A quick read in the morning to start out right (longer when time permits) and snacking on Scripture throughout the day keeps our faith strong.

And we need to talk to and listen to God.  He’s got important things to say, like, “I love you! I love you!  I love you!”  And, “I’m with you!  I’m with you! I’m with you!”

“You’re not alone.”  “We’re in this together.”  “Listen to me, follow me, and share my love with others.”

It’s the day to day pedaling with God that gets us closer and closer to the goal:

LOVE!!!

“Blessed is the man who listens to me, Watching daily at my gates, Waiting at my doorposts. For he who finds me finds life And obtains favor from the LORD.”  ~~ Proverbs 8:35

Stop, Drop, and Pray!

Let’s Pray:

But first, a quick note:

I LOVE to pray God’s words back to Him.

Why?

Because there’s POWER in it.

One of my favorite Bible teachers, Beth Moore (who IS a Texas woman, by the way, so it’s fitting I should mention her since we’re pretend biking through her state.)

Anyway, Beth Moore said that because both are so powerful, prayer AND God’s Word, when you combine them together, it’s like strapping two sticks of dynamite together.  KABOOM!!!

Though we may not hear it or see it, there’s an explosion in the spiritual realm.

So, let’s get to lightin’ that fuse….

Oh, Father in heaven, thank you for Your Word.  It’s a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my way. (Psalm 119:105)

Your word revives me. (Psalm 119:50)

And I am BLESSED when I follow You and seek You with all my heart. (Psalm 119:2)

Teach me, Father.  Give me understanding.  Direct me in the paths of Your commands, and may I just be delighted to follow your lead. (Psalm 19:33-35)

In Jesus’ name, Amen!!!!

Do you know the Lord, or are you biking solo?  Click on the pic below for a quick introduction.  Come on!  You need your “helmet of salvation” in place as you ride out the rest of your life:

"Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God." Ephesians 6:17

*****Cute doggie picture from: Cycleicio.us

2 thoughts on “On the Road Again…

Leave a Reply

