Bike Ride Across America: Campfire under the Arizona moon

Well, I’ve been biking with my husband more than blogging, lately, so we’ve made it quite a ways down the road since my last post.   In fact, we’ve crossed the border into Arizona and are almost to Tucson, in a little town called Benson.

click pic for Benson, AZ facts from podunk.com

My husband is, anyway.  I’m, actually, 5 miles behind him, which means I’ll just have to pitch a tent and spend the night with the rattlers and scorpions in the desert, till I can catch up in the morning.

That’s because this isn’t a real Bike Ride Across America.  It’s a virtual one where we ride out the miles on country roads around our Midwestern town and log our progress on a map to see where we’d be if we really were riding Rt. 10 from the Atlantic to the Pacific across the south.

Our day’s goal was to ride 50 miles, which Dave achieved, but I had stopped at McDonald’s for a coffee break after the first 10, while Dave rode around some more, which left me 5 miles short at the end of the ride and since we had an appointment to get showered up for, there was no time to make up the miles, which leaves  me out under the stars  while Dave’s in town mingling with the Benson-ites!

I wonder if he’s in one of the taverns singing the “Benson, Arizona Song” with the locals.  It’s a real song.  I found it on Youtube:

Not as much fun as I’m having, I’m sure, since I found THIS friendly group of singers to share a campfire with under a beautiful Arizona moon:

In the real world, it’s nice to have friends, and in the Christian day to day, it’s vital:

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!…  Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves.”    ~~Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Well, while I’m stranded out here under the stars, why don’t you join me for a bit around the warmth of God’s Word to pray for our friends.  Who knows, maybe one or two of them have fallen down and could use a little help getting back up again…

Stop! Drop! and Pray!

Let’s Pray:

Oh, Father in heaven, thank you for my friends.

Father, “out of [Your] glorious riches, please strengthen [them] with power through [Your] Spirit in their inner [selves]”. (Ephesians 3:16)

Please give [them] a Spirit of wisdom and revelation so that [they] may know [You] better. (Ephesians 1:17)

In Jesus’ name, Amen!

Do you know the Lord?  If not, click the pic below to be introduced.  He’d love to share His fire with you!

campfire chalk drawing by Helen South**

**click HERE to see source for campfire flames above.

Leave a Reply

