Don’t cry over spilled juice :(

Don't cry over spilled juice. 😦

Have you ever sucked your breakfast off the kitchen counter through a straw?  sigh… I have.  Just a few minutes ago, in fact.

I’m trying a detox diet and I’m living on juice for the next few days.  The ingredients are supposed to be as pure as possible,  so I  invested a lot of money in organic fruits and veggies and borrowed a friend’s juice machine.

This morning I washed a pile of fruit, carefully cored, de-seeded, quartered, and crammed it all down the funnel into the noisy juicer, then, splat!!

Splat?!  The collecting cup had toppled over spilling its valuable contents, and my only option for breakfast, across the counter and under the machine.

whaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!

I was starving!  So I quickly grabbed a straw out of the cupboard and slurped away, but only after snapping a few pictures of the mess for Gloriadelia.  I had a hunch there’d be a lesson in this dietary tragedy somewhere.

And, sure enough, as I slurped, the thought occurred to me, a gentle reminder, a little tap on the shoulder — Am I this eager for God’s Word?

The Bible says we need to crave it like a baby craves its mommy’s milk.

“Like newborn babies, long for the pure milk of the Word, so that by it you may grow in respect to your salvation if you have tasted the kindness of the Lord.” ~~ 1 Peter 2:2-3

We need to take daily gulps of it to detox from the toxic world around us, and in us,

and to strengthen our faith.

And besides, how will we know what God wants us to do, otherwise?  It’s all there in the Book.

So, here’s a few healthy slurps from God’s Word. Drink up! May they nourish your soul and strengthen your faith during lean times. 🙂

The Lord is upright; He is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in Him.”  Psalm 92:15

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those that love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”  Romans 8:28

“The Lord is near the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”  Psalm 34:18

Do you know the author of the Bible?  Click the pic below to be introduced:

 

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control." Galatians 5:22-23

** fruit pic from: http://www.mountainsun.com/images/fruit/pile-of-fruit.jpg

2 thoughts on “Don’t cry over spilled juice :(

  1. Thank you for the inspirational words, Gloris. This is the same message God has been giving me. Do I long for his presence more than anything?

    • I’ll pray for you when I’m praying for me. This Cheap Trick song came to my mind, imagine God singing it to us, “I want you to want me. I need you to need me. I’d love you to love me…”

Leave a Reply

