“Heartland paralyzed by 2,000-mile wide storm system”

“Heartland paralyzed by 2,ooo-mile wide storm system.”

I can relate to that headline.  Not just because I survived the Blizzard of 2011, but because I’ve been there, done that, emotionally, as well.

Sometimes life blows in like a storm with a blizzard of hard knocks and painful circumstances, and I’m stopped in my tracks, paralyzed by fear and worry.   I can’t move forward, or backward.

At times like that, I just need to sit and wait for rescue, like these motorists on Lake Shore Drive during “Smowmaggedon!”


"Those who wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength. They shall mount up on wings like eagles." Isaiah 40:31 (click pic for source)

Because, like another Blizzard headline read,it’s  “Time to Dig Deep”

"Oh, the depths of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God. How unsearchable are His judgements and unfathomable His ways." Romans 11:33 (Ron Johnson, photographer. Click pic for source)

That’s what Jesus did.

When things got tough (like when everyone wanted to healed all at once and crowds were following him everywhere, or when his cousin, John, was beheaded)

or when he knew things would be getting tough (like the night before the cross)

He’d go off by himself to pray.


"But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed..." Luke 5:16 (click pic for photo source)

“At daybreak Jesus went out to a solitary place…” Luke 4:42

“When Jesus heard what had happened [to John, the Baptist] he withdrew by boat to a solitary place…” Mark 14:13

If Jesus needed to draw near to His Father for strength, how much more so do I…and you.

Stop! Drop! and Pray!

Let’s pray: Oh, Father in heaven, you are in control, even of blizzards.  You have “entered the storehouses of the snow..and hail” as it says, poetically, in Job 38:22.

You are near the brokenhearted (Ps. 34:18) and you save those who are crushed in spirit.

“Come to me”, you say, “all ye who are weary and heavy-laden and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon You and learn from me, for my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11: 28-29)

I’m coming to You now.  Here’s my concerns:_____________(list them out, take your time.)

They’re too big for me to carry, so I give them to you.

Thank you for carrying me.  In Jesus’ name, Amen!

“Cast your cares on Him, because He cares for You.”  1 Peter 5:7


One thought on ““Heartland paralyzed by 2,000-mile wide storm system”

Leave a Reply

