True Grit

True Grit

click pic for source

I saw the movie, “True Grit”, the other day.  No comment.

Like my daddy always said, “If you can’t say somethin’ nice, don’t say nothin’ at all.” Oh, wait, that was Thumper’s dad…

Anywho,  I Youtubed scenes of the old John Wayne version  to compare and came across this colorful old cowboy, instead (see below).

The video’s about 3 minutes long, but if that’s too long for you,  click on the “Youtube button” at the bottom of the video, and skip ahead to 2:19.  That’s the main part.


Outside my window

A new day I see

And only I can determine

what kind of day it will be

It can be busy, sunny, laughing, or gay,

Or boring,

cold,

unhappy

and gray.


My own state of mind is the determining key.

For I am the only person

I make myself be.

 

I can be patient with those that may not understand

Or belittle ‘em,

hurt ‘em

as much as I can.


I can enjoy what I do

And make it seem fun,

Or gripe

And complain

And try to hurt someone.


But I have faith in myself

And believe what I say.

And I personally intend

To make the very best

Of each day.

Stop! Drop! and Pray! **

Let’s pray:

Oh, Father, your Word says, “gray hair is the crown of the aged”, (Proverbs 16:31)  Thank you for this gray haired gentleman, and his poem’s reminder that “my own state of mind is the determining key, for I am the only person I make myself be.”

Your Word says, “As He thinks within himself, so he is.” (Proverbs 23:7)

I want to ” Fix [my] thoughts on what is true and honorable and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely and admirableexcellent and worthy of praise.” (Philippians 4:8)

And I want to fix my eyes on You.”  In Jesus’ name, Amen


“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” ~~ Hebrews 12:2

**”Cowboys’ Prayer” picture found at TrekLens**

One thought on “True Grit

Leave a Reply

