Crutches Faith

Surprise! You will now be a shut-in for several weeks. Do not pass "Go". Do not collect $200.

Although my feet are not my best feature, I thought it was appropriate to take a picture of my ankle brace next to the geraniums I might not be able to plant as soon as I’d like because of …(dramatic music builds)…an ankle sprain!

Ok, it’s not that dramatic, but it it has been a pain in the, well, ankle, and has dramatically changed my life.

Been there?  Done that?

Until two days ago at 11:30 I was an active,  fit 4o- something year old (47 – Shhh! Don’t tell anyone.) training to be an RPM instructor at my local gym.

RPM = group bicycle spinning class = hard, sweaty challenging fun with a lot of sweating.  Did I already mention the sweating?

RPM!! click pic for source

So, when I suggested to my 16 yr. old son that we jog as we were hiking along a local nature trail, it was no big deal until my son heard me screaming behind him and saw me sitting on the trail yelling incomprehensible things with a “colorful expression” thrown in that no self-respecting devotional blog writer ought to be saying.    sigh…

And just like that, Fit 40-something meets Hobbling Grandma.  sigh again…

I could easily give in to despair…

but I’ve decided to pull myself up by my biking shorts and make the best of it.

Afterall, the Lord of the trails allowed this path to fall before me, or me to fall on it, and though it looks a bit crooked and scary at the outset, I’m trusting that I will end up in a better place than when I started.

Here’s some verses I’m going to lean on while I recover to help me walk a little stronger, faith-wise.  Each says something encouraging about ankles, or paths. 🙂

“Trust in the Lord with all of your heart.  Lean not on your own understanding.  Acknowledge the Lord in all of your ways and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

“You broaden the path beneath me, so that my ankles do not turn.”  (Psalm 18:36)

” All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.   Therefore, strengthen the hands that are weak and the knees that are feeble, and make straight paths for your feet, so that the limb which is lame may not be put out of joint, but rather be healed.”  (Hebrews 12:11-13)

click pic for source

Let’s Pray:

Father, you are my coach, my trainer, my instructor, my Lord, and my friend.

Even though I’ve shed a few tears bawled, I thank you for this trial because I know from the Bible that hardships grow us up and teach us to persevere. (James 1:2-4)

Help me to trust in You at all times, even on crutches.

In Jesus’ name, Amen!

Wanna meet The Coach?  His name is Jesus, and you can lean on him when you’re feeling weak, like a crutch, only better. 🙂  Click the pic below for a quick introduction:

me, 2nd day on crutches

11 thoughts on “Crutches Faith

  1. I hope your ankle gets better soon! Great analogy for a tough time. Everything happens for a reason and so far you’ve got a great blog post from this injury 😀

  2. Excellent verse choices Gloris and I love the way you presented them. Pull yourself up by your bike shorts . . . LOL.

  3. Oh no! Your poor ankle! I bet that super hurts! We’ll your still skinny and cute atleast…haha
    If you need anything, Please gimme a call and let me know if I can scrub your kitchen, bath or toes!! I’d love to help.

  4. poor aunti!! i’m glad your ankle incident has not affected your humor!! speedy recovery! love you!

  5. Well put! The only way I know to understand that God is sovereign is to know that he is also good. I am willing to trust a sovereign God when I know that all that He allows is for good!

    Praying for your recovery!

    • Thanks, Jeannie! And thanks for stopping by. Reminds me of that line from Chronicles of Narnia where one of the kids asks if Aslan is safe and Mr. Beaver says, “Safe?! Who said anything about him being safe?! He’s a lion! But he’s good.”

Leave a Reply

