Happy Birthday, Richard Scarry!

Another amazing Google Doodle to honor the anniversary of Richard Scarry's 90th birthday. See how it spells out "Google"? Click Pic for source.

Brings back pleasant memories of reading this book over and over with my kids:

click pic for source and to see inside contents from "OhDeDo - home, design, children"

Reading aloud when the kids were little, was a pleasant part of every day, as these pictures show below.  They’re all of our first-born, Steve, now 22.  *sniff*  They grow so fast!

Reading to Steve. 🙂 Well, I was reading, he looks a little distracted. Those were my favorite footies he's wearing. 🙂 That was NOT my favorite chair, though. A hand-me-down.

Steve's big cousin reading to him before a nap.

I was "great with child" in this photo. Remodeling going on in the background. Steve's helping me read my Bible 🙂 I look a little sleepy.

Another Richard Scarry favorite, Postman Pig and His Busy Neighbors:

Postman Pig and His Busy Neighbors. I couldn't find my copy ={ so borrowed this pic from E-bay.

Mr. Scarry put a pickle on each page.  Do you see one in the pic above?  It’s easy to find on the cover, but the kids had to search a bit for the hidden pickles inside.

“Where’s the pickle?”, I’d ask with each flip of the page.   “There it is!”  they’d shout, pointing with a stubby little finger when they’d spotted it in a shop window, or  in postman pig’s mail cart, or in a street light.

You know, God is present on every page of our lives, too, but sometimes He’s just hard to spot, like the  Busy Town pickle, especially when  the story takes a sad turn,  like with my recent ankle injury.

Bummer!

 Where is God then?

Well, if we search for Him,  He promises He WILL be found:

“You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” ~~ Jeremiah 29:13

and Jesus said,

“Ask and you shall receive.  Seek and you shall find.  Knock and the door will be opened.”  ~~ Luke 11:9

Plus, look at what Proverbs 2 has to say:

“… if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.” ~ Proverbs 2:3-5

So, that’s what I’m going to do this week while my ankle heals, going on a God-search.

How?

By reading my Bible more…

 

by praying for more than just a few quick minutes.

I’m going to really pour my heart out to God about why?  and what?  and where do I go from here?

Just like one of my favorite verses encourages me to do:

“Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.” ~~ 1 Peter 5:7 NLT

But, before I log off to start my search, I wanna say,

Happy Birthday Mr. Scarry!  Thanks for all the memories 🙂

Richard Scarry, 1919-1994 Click pic for bio on Amazon.

  

P.S.  Speaking of pickles, are you in God’s jar?  Click on the pic below for a quick introduction.  He’s worth the search.

see image source below

pickle jar from HERE

Leave a Reply

